Off the chART -- Fiber Art

Friday, May 29, 2015

As the annual May Impressionist and Contemporary auctions in New York come to a record-breaking close, I wanted to highlight a genre that has interested me recently -- Fiber Art. There is something about the vivid colors and textures that I keep coming back to. I am amazed at how these artists can transform simple threads into voluminous sculptural pieces.  Check out some of these finds you can grab for under a $179.4 million!

1. Gabriel Dawe torres de satélite + site specific installation at centraltrak + gütermann thread, painted wood and hooks + 7' x 14" x 16' + 2011
2. Elizabeth McTague Macrame wall hanging 24 inches wide and 28 inches long
3. Karen Margolis Yin-yang, 2015 14x11”, Watercolor, gouache, map fragments, thread on Abaca
4. Jose Romussi  Embroidered vintage black & white photograph
5. Jennifer Reifsneider Landfall (Inverted Mercator) 2012, thread 113" x 80" x 10"

-Jessica B

11 comments:

  1. As an aspiring artist myself, I always look for places where I can showcase my talent to the world and hopefully even make some money out of this. By searching for such opportunities on the internet I managed to come across http://www.artpicktexture.com/. It's a great place where you can really work on your talent and if you are good enough sell your arts.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Omega has been crafting beautiful watches accustomed that 1882. They are a Swiss firm, alms cautiously complete and anguish watches with exact time captivation and breitling replica contemporary look. In 1972, they began aftermath of their “Royal Oak” band of watches. The Omega Royal Oak watches afire the bazaar central the stainless animate affluence watches. Featuring stainless-steel bands and faces, with bright windows?asome styles even accept a amount of omega replica time tracking fingers. They’re a abundant best for time aggravating to keep, authoritative assertive the buyer is accustomed as an alone of chic and elegance. Prior to 1972, watches mostly accent covering wrist bands, the beneath cher kinds had been rubber. The faces were all hublot replica assumption and glass. The Royal Oak band afflicted that, breeding Swiss Watches stainless animate with bright faces a approved of luxurious. The about-face appear affluence created these watches awfully highly-priced. In the aged economy, this affectionate of cartier replica amount readily prohibits fashion, course, and accuracy. Replicas action you the actual best band-aid to this challenge. Cheap watches advance the identical forms of abstracts in building. The metal, leather, rubber, and assumption because the raw aliment are abode calm central the exact aforementioned adjustment and into the actual aforementioned gears, levers, and switches. Through www.online store, it is accessible to rolex replica attain Cheap Omega Royal Oak watches. The watches, missing the registered brand of Audemars Piguet, advertise for appreciably less, but nonetheless accord the absolute agnate attention and fashion. The Swiss-based Omega utilizes its claimed suppliers, a ample amount of of whom accept been providers of louis vuitton replica Omega for abounding years and commonly acknowledge costs prearranged a continued time ago.






    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete