The Kitchen Floor

Thursday, November 29, 2012

Ah, the saga continues.  Well, while we were gone for Thanksgiving, our GC ripped up our kitchen floor and put down new finished plywood and painted it the specified grey. It looks really nice and clean and doesn't feel like it's going to cave in when you walk on it.   So the plan is to do a stencil on the floor as per my original concept board and give it sort of an antiqued encaustic tile type of look. The idea is that if I antique it, it will look worn and the seams of the plywood will be less obvious (as will any dirt and grime and such).  And I love all those amazing cementitious tiles out there so I'm super excited about this.  The question is whether to go more geometric with a design created from painters tape or to take a stencil and do a little doctoring to make it look like tile.  Of course, I love some of the more intricate designs, but I can't imagine that with a toddler, and a business to run, that I'll have that much time to spend stooped over the floor painting scroll details.

Here are some of my inspirations.
Clockwise from top left: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4 / 5 / 6 / 7 / 8

Cutting edge stencils has offered to give me a stencil for the project (and do a giveaway on the blog!) so I'm leaning in that direction. Here are some photoshopped versions of a few of their stencils that I am considering.

The first is the Bazaar Allover Stencil. I like the idea of it but with the coloration doesn't it look a bit mid-century mod?  The second is the Aladdin Allover Stencil.  Definitely a Moroccan feel but it seems too much of a color block effect.  The last is the Moroc-n-Roll Allover Stencil. I'd almost said no to this because of it's tongue-in-cheek name, but I actually think that I like this the best (despite the horribly pixelated attempt at photoshop).  Thoughts? There are so many options on their site that every time I go on there I see another one that strikes my fancy.  I'm in desperate need of someone to help me narrow it down!

15 comments:

  1. Jessica I can't wait to see how this works out for you as I have only seen stenciled floors on the web. I am helping a friend with her hair salon and feel like this could be a great option. Anyway I would have to say that I like 1 or 3. I especially think #1 would look good and a little less mid century if you changed the colors and kept it to a 3 color max. Now can you pick from any of the stencils from their site? Again I can't wait to get the details.

    xx - CB


    ReplyDelete
  2. How about some of their fossil stencils: a combination of the critters and the florals?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletfactory-stores.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface-outlets.com.co

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Coach Outlet Store Online http://www.coachstoreonline.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.in.net

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurses.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet2016.us.com

    Tory Burch Shoes http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Outlet http://www.longchampoutlet.in.net

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.us.org

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletstore.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.moncleroutletonline.in.net

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactorysoutlet.in.net

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutletstore.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes2016.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlets.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachoutletstore.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coach-outlets.us.org

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanie-nikerosherun.pl

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.us.org

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoe.in.net

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinoutlet.us.org

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagaoutlets.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciaga-handbags.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.in.net

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Belt http://www.hermes-belts.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradafactoryoutlet.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuittonsoutlet.us.com

    North Face Outlet Store http://www.northfaceoutletstore.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.north-face.in.net

    North Face http://www.north-faceoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.louisvuitton-outlets.us.org

    Timberland Boots http://www.timberland-outlets.us.com

    Cheap Timberland Boots http://www.timberlandoutlet.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.outlettoryburch.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletusa.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlaurenstoreoutlet.us.com

    Gucci Shoes http://www.guccifactoryoutlet.name

    Gucci Outlet http://www.guccioutletco.us.com

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Prada Outlet http://www.pradaoutlets.in.net

    Hollister Clothing http://www.hollister-clothing.us.com

    Ferragamo Shoes http://www.ferragamoshoes.us.org

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffany-outlets.us.com

    Tiffany Outlet http://www.tiffanyco-outlet.us.com

    NFL Jerseys http://www.nfljerseys.name

    Toms Outlet http://www.outlettoms.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordans.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.thenorthfaceoutlet.us.org

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-korsoutletstores.us.com

    Prada Handbags http://www.pradaoutlet.us.org

    Chan Luu Sale http://www.chanluu.us.com

    Toms Outlet http://www.tomsoutletstores.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.us.org

    Beats By Dr Dre http://www.beatsbydrdre.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    ReplyDelete