The White City

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

So on Sunday, Scott decided to dust off our copy of Take A Hike Los Angeles and pick out a local hike for us to take.  We woke up on the late side so our hike didn't start until about 12:30.  But we were prepared. Slathered in sunscreen, with two large Nalgene's full of water, we drove the 15 minutes to the foothills of the San Gabriel Mountains (just a 10-15 minute drive to Altadena) and began the trek.  The Sam Merrill trail (I've checked and as far as I can tell, there is no relation to the shoe brand) starts in Rubio Canyon and then ascends 1400 feet to the top of Echo Mountain. Due to a few hiccups along the way, the hike took a bit longer than usual, but was fun nonetheless...actually more like funn...y.

Hiccup number one - dehydration.  make sure you are hydrated - and bring more water than you thought you'd need.  It gets hot in these here mountains!

Hiccup number two - too old hiking boots.  About half way up the mountain, the front part of Scott's hiking boot sole decided to give way.  We're handy though and we took a string from our little backpack, cut it and tied the sole on.



That lasted for about a hundred meters when the back half detached and the entire sole came off.  Lucky for Scott, his hiking boots have a steel plate on the bottom (we think) that served as a good-enough sole for the remainder of the ascent and descent.

Then of course, about 3/4 of the way up the second boot sole came off altogether. At least he was on even footing now, so to speak.

Despite the hiccups, the view at the top (of the entire LA basin - from Pasadena all the way to Palos Verdes) was incredible and worth the trek.  Also at the top of Echo Mountain are the ruins of the White City which was a resort hotel atop the mountain, reachable by a cable car up until the 1930's (the ruins of which can also be seen).  The grounds consisted of hotel, casino, dance hall, tennis courts, pig pen, observatory, post office and power plant.  Unfortunately it was destroyed by fires and floods and never rebuilt.

And of course, walking back down the mountain behind Scott in his "hiking mocassins"  was also worth it.

11 comments:

  1. He should check out this cool blog called the Eagles Nest and see if she has advice on what would be the cutest and yet most durable hiking boot for him.

    ReplyDelete
  2. ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardypopsale.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutletsonlines.us.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletonlinesstore.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletsstore.us.com

    Cheap Jordans http://www.cheapjordansretro.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet Store http://www.michaelkorsoutletsstores.us.com

    Coach Handbags http://www.coachhandbagstore.us.com

    Coach Factory http://www.coachoutletsonlinestore.us.com

    Oakley Sunglasses http://www.oakleyglassessale.us.com

    Tory Burch Outlet http://www.toryburch-outlet.us.org

    Longchamp Handbags http://www.longchampoutlets.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Outlet http://www.pagina16.com

    Michael Kors Handbags http://www.innnov8.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.innnovate.com

    UGG Boots http://www.uggbootsoutlets.us.com

    Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoeoutlet.com

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerdownjackets.us.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutletblackfriday.com

    Kate Spade Black Friday http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Moncler Outlet http://www.monclerjacketsoutlet.com.co

    Coach Factory http://www.maganates.com

    Coach Handbags http://www.coachhandbagsfactoryoutlet.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katesapdeoutlet.us.org

    North Face Jackets http://www.northfacejacketsinc.com

    Ray Ban Outlet http://www.raybanoutlets.com.co

    Cheap Ray Ban Sunglasses http://www.raybanglasses.name

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletsstore.us.com

    Cheap UGG Boots http://www.uggbootoutlet.us.com

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoes.name

    North Face Outlet http://www.outletnorthface.name

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.name

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutletonline.name

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.name

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutlet.name

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmaxstore.ru

    Moncler Jackets http://www.monclerjacketsru.ru

    Nike Roshe Run http://www.tanienikerosherun.pl

    Cheap Nike Air Max http://www.nike-airmaxaustralia.com

    Buty Nike Air Max http://www.airmaxsprzedazdla.pl

    Nike Air Max Damskie http://www.cheapnikeairmax.pl

    Nike Air Max http://www.nikeairmax.com.co

    Cheap Red Bottom Shoes http://www.redbottomshoes.name

    Christian Louboutin Outlet http://www.christianlouboutinsoutlets.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.outletburberry.us.com

    Balenciaga Outlet http://www.balenciagaoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Handbags http://www.burberryshandbag.us.com

    Balenciaga Handbags http://www.balenciagahandbags.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Wallet http://www.louisvuittonwallets.org

    Cheap UGG Boots http://www.uggcheapbootstore.com

    Uggs Boots http://www.uggbootsinc.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadeoutleinc.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.tomshoesoutlet.us.com

    Hermes Blet http://www.hermesbeltstore.com

    UGG Boots http://www.uggboots2015.us.com

    UGG Boots Outlet http://www.uggbootsoutlet.net

    UGG Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  3. Coach Outlet http://www.coachstoreoutlet.us.org

    Christian Louboutin Shoes http://www.christianlouboutinshoe.eu.com

    Valentino Shoes http://www.valentinoshoes.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michaelkorsoutlet.us.org

    Coach Factory Outlet http://www.coachfactoryoutlet.us.org

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutletonlinestore.us.org

    Coach Purses http://www.coachpurse.us.com

    Kate Spade Outlet http://www.katespadefactoryoutlet.us.com

    Toms Shoes http://www.toms-shoes.name

    Hermes Belts http://www.hermesbelts.us.org

    Louis Vuitton http://www.louisvuitton-outletstores.us.com

    Fendi Handbags http://www.fendibelt.us.com

    Giuseppe Shoes http://www.giuseppezanotti.eu.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.michael-kors-outlet.us.com

    Stephen Curry Shoes http://www.stephencurryshoes.us.com

    Salomon Shoes http://www.salomonshoes.eu.com

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacesoutlet.us.com

    Burberry Outlet http://www.burberryoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.north-faceoutlets.in.net

    North Face Jackets http://www.outletnorthface.in.net

    Skechers Shoes http://www.skechersshoes.us.com

    Toms Outlethttp://www.tomsoutletstore.us.org

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfacestoreoutlet.us.org

    Nike Outlet http://www.nikeoutlet.us.org

    Nike Hoodies http://www.nikehoodies.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://www.marcjacobshandbags.name

    Marc Jacobs Outlet http://www.marcjacobsoutletstore.us.com

    Jimmy Choo Shoes http://www.jimmy-chooshoes.us.com

    Jimmy Choos http://www.jimmychoos.in.net

    Burberry Belt http://www.burberrybelt.us.com

    Louis Vuitton Belt http://www.louisvuitton-belt.com

    Salvatore Ferragamo http://www.ferragamo-belt.us.com

    Marc Jacobs Handbags http://marcjacobshandbagsoutlet.blog.com

    Lululemon Outlet http://www.lululemonsoutlet.us.com

    True Religion Outlet http://www.truereligion-outlets.in.net

    Tommy Hilfiger http://www.tommyhilfigeroutlet.us.com

    Michael Kors Outlet http://www.outletmichaelkors.eu.com

    Coach Outlet http://www.outletcoach.eu.com

    Red Bottoms http://www.redbottom.in.net

    Kevin Durant Shoes http://www.kevindurantshoes.us.org

    New Balance Outlet http://www.newbalanceoutlet.in.net

    Adidas Outlet http://www.adidasoutlet.in.net

    Coach Outlet Online http://www.coachoutlet-online.eu.com

    Stephen Curry Jersey http://www.stephencurryjersey.us.com

    Vans Outlet http://www.vansoutlet.us.com

    Ralph Lauren Outlet http://www.ralphlauren-outletstore.in.net

    True Religion Outlet http://www.true-religionoutlets.in.net

    ED Hardy Outlet http://www.edhardyoutlet.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northfaceoutlet.eu.com

    UGG Outlet http://www.uggoutlet.us.org

    UGG Outlet http://www.outletugg.in.net

    North Face Outlet http://www.northface--outlet.us.com

    Ugg Boots Sale http://www.uggbootssale.in.net

    UGGS For Women http://www.uggsforwomen.us.com

    Skechers Go Walk http://www.skechersgowalk.us.com

    Adidas Yeezy Boost http://www.adidasyeezyboost.in.net

    Adidas Yeezy http://www.adidasyeezy.us.com

    Adidas NMD http://www.adidas-nmd.us.org

    Coach Outlet http://www.coachoutletinc.us.com

    ReplyDelete
  4. Mobile application development is a term used to denote the act or process by which application software is developed for mobile devices, such as personal digital assistants, enterprise digital assistants or mobile phones. These applications can be pre-installed on phones during manufacturing platforms, or delivered as web applications using server-side or client-side processing (e.g., JavaScript) to provide an "application-like" experience within a Web browser. Application software developers also must consider a long array of screen sizes, hardware specifications, and configurations because of intense competition in mobile software and changes within each of the platforms. Mobile app companies has been steadily growing, in revenues and jobs created. A 2013 analyst report estimates there are 529,000 direct app economy jobs within the EU 28 members, 60% of which are mobile app developers. As part of the development process, mobile user interface (UI) design is also essential in the creation of mobile apps. Mobile UI considers constraints, contexts, screen, input, and mobility as outlines for design. The user is often the focus of interaction with their device, and the interface entails components of both hardware and software. User input allows for the users to manipulate a system, and device's output allows the system to indicate the effects of the users' manipulation. Mobile UI design constraints include limited attention and form factors, such as a mobile device's screen size for a user's hand(s). Mobile UI contexts signal cues from user activity, such as location and scheduling that can be shown from user interactions within a mobile application. Overall, mobile UI design's goal is mainly for an understandable, user-friendly interface. The UI of mobile apps should: consider users' limited attention, minimize keystrokes, and be task-oriented with a minimum set of functions. This functionality is supported by mobile enterprise application platforms or integrated development environments (IDEs). Mobile UIs, or front-ends, rely on mobile back-ends to support access to enterprise systems. The mobile back-end facilitates data routing, security, authentication, authorization, working off-line, and service orchestration. This functionality is supported by a mix of middleware components including mobile application servers, mobile backend as a service (MBaaS), and service-oriented architecture (SOA) infrastructure.

    ReplyDelete